Scenes from the 2012 Historic Preservation Awards

May 29, 2012 |

MTHP members Michael Bridgeman, Mark Gehrig, Michelle Martin, and Erica Fox Gehrig at the 2012 Historic Preservation Awards.

The 2012 Historic Preservation Awards were presented May 3 at a ceremony at the Madison Masonic Center’s grand ballroom. The building, completed in 1925 and designed by James and Edward Law of Madison, was a perfect venue for the ceremony, and over 120 guests and award winners enjoyed the event.

Eight awards were presented to projects rehabilitated, restored, or made additions to old or historic buildings in ways that retained their historic character.  Also, one Advocacy Award was presented to David and Leigh Mollenhoff for their lifetime contributions to the recognition and preservation historic places in Madison.

The event included tours of the Law Brothers’ “Temple of Freemasonry” including its lounges, library and museum, lodge rooms, and ceremonial auditorium led by 32nd-degree Mason Bob Canfield, and facility manager Debbie Wagner.¬† There was a silent auction featuring 40 great items, wonderful food prepared by the Center’s onsite catering chef and by Heritage Bakery, and of course the presentation of the Awards.

The event was sponsored by Summit Credit Union, Westring Construction, NARI of Madison, TDS Custom Construction, Stark Company Realtor Roman Vetter, Boomtown Accounting, and Leigh Richardson Designs.

Additional contributions  of goods and services were made by Don Kerkhof | Imagewerks Studio, Frank Lloyd Wright Wisconsin, Frank Productions Inc., Heritage Bakery, Madison Museum of Contemporary Art, and University of Wisconsin Press.

And the Winners are…

[miniflickr photoset_id=72157629882132840&sortby=date-posted-asc&per_page=50]


Attendees enjoyed food, drinks and ceremony…

[miniflickr photoset_id=72157629862651804&sortby=date-posted-asc&per_page=50]



Category: Events & Tours

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.